October 9, 2012

  • Mystery Solved!

    The mystery of the hummingbird feeder is solved!  Many of you know that we have had a problem most of the summer with an animal getting to our hummingbird feeders, emptying them sometime during the night.  We have tried to get pictures of them, but never saw anything on the camera.

    Jim just told me that he was up very early this morning, and it was still dark out, so he turned on the back lights to check the outdoor thermometer and see if it was raining.  He saw an opossum at the feeder!  He said it looked like a young one, who, when the light went on, just walked off like he was making his rounds in the neighborhood.  surprised

    Hummingbird season is over here, but I hadn't taken the feeders down yet.  Guess I better do that!  The only solution we have found is to bring the feeders in every night, onto our porch, then take them out in the morning.  I guess I might have to keep that up next year when the hummingbirds start coming back, because I sure don't want to change the sugar water in those every single morning!

Comments (4)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment